Skip to main content

Community consent and a new paradigm for the extractives

Online 17 February 2016 15:00 - 16:00


07:00 PST | 10:00 EST | 15:00 GMT

In the last few years there has been a growing movement towards giving communities the right to not only comment on a potential project and to play a part in decisions about it, but to actually give or withhold consent to the project, termed ‘Free, Prior and Informed Consent’ (FPIC).

FPIC is now being built into regulations and finance requirements and not just for Indigenous communities (where the notion first appeared).

This webinar will discuss the issues FPIC presents for extractives, exploring examples of where and how it has been achieved, contributing to reducing the social and financial risks to projects.

This webinar will be presented by Dr Chris Anderson, Senior Advisor to Acorn International. Chris is a social anthropologist with more than 30 years of experience at the interface of extractive projects and communities, particularly over the issues of Indigenous rights, land access and stakeholder engagement. Some twenty of those years was spent with Normandy Mining Ltd, Newmont Mining Corporation and Rio Tinto focusing on land and community issues including agreement-making, grievance management, social performance, resettlement and compensation in Turkey, Indonesia, Peru, Ghana, Australia, the United States and Canada.

Register for webinar

Categories: Social