• Home
  • Events
  • Ninth Regional Conference of the Global Initiative for West, Central and Southern Africa (GI WACAF)
Calendar7-10 November 2022, 9:00am - 5:00pm

Oil spill response preparedness in West, Central and Southern Africa: GI WACAF project, 16 years of success

From 7to 10 November 2022, Accra (Ghana) will host the ninth Regional Conference of the Global Initiative for West, Central and Southern Africa (GI WACAF).

The main objectives of the conference are to address the challenges of oil spill preparedness and response in the region, to review the progress achieved since the last Regional Conference and to foster discussions to set the strategic priorities for the next biennium (2023-2024).

The success of the GI WACAF Project relies heavily on the involvement of the countries. Thus, delegates will be invited to share their experiences and good practices, to identify priorities to strengthen spill response preparedness and potential need for support from the GI WACAF for the next biennium. A panel of international experts will be present to facilitate the discussions.

The Conference is organized by the International Maritime Organization (IMO) and Ipieca, the global Oil & Gas industry association for advancing environmental and social performance, in close collaboration with the Government of Ghana, in particular the Environmental Protection agency (EPA).

Organized at the end of each biennium, the regional conference is a key event in the life cycle of the GI WACAF Project. The ninth Regional Conference will launch a new biennium (2023 - 2024), after a three-years period during which the project had to rethink its approach to support the region in response to the sanitary context

For 16 years, the project has been supporting its partner countries by continually strengthening and adapting its capacity to support their development.

The conference will bring together representatives from the 22[1] partner countries of the GI WACAF project, from the oil and gas industry and from partners.

Find out more.

[1] Angola, Benin, Cameroon, Cabo Verde, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Liberia, Mauritania, Namibia, Nigeria, Democratic Republic of the Congo, South Africa, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo.

E-mail alerts

Sign up to receive Ipieca's e-news
Marine spill
Please confirm that you are happy to receive newsletters from Ipieca: